Umwaka Mushya Muhire

6 Jan

I’ve been texting with my friend all evening and we concluded that life right now is so very good. It’s not without it’s problems or challenges but things seem manageable and I’m definitely looking on the brighter side of life.

Not sure if this new burst of optimism is from hitting my stride here in Rwanda or the abundance of Vitamin D in my body at a time of the year when historically my body’s stores are at their lowest and I find myself toeing the line of Seasonal Affective Disorder. Perhaps it’s a combination of both with a dash of some other things.

As my time winds down on 36 hours of unlimited internet I’m aware of all the things I WANT to share about my first holiday season in Rwanda but haven’t yet. I will get around to it. Tomorrow promises lots of work as I undertake the deep clean that seems needed about once a month. But for the time being I am content to cuddle up with the kitten and a cup of tea.

Happy New Year Everyone!

(That’s the title of this blog, in Kinyarwanda)

 

2 Responses to “Umwaka Mushya Muhire”

  1. LilyWarrior January 6, 2012 at 2:03 pm #

    Happy 2012 Heidi. You rock and roll in your spirit of adventure and service!

  2. Liz February 5, 2012 at 11:46 pm #

    oh my goodness, i just checked my comments and saw yours from forever ago! I’m so sorry I didn’t get back to you sooner, did you end up coming to Uganda? I am actually planning a (short) trip to Rwanda sometime in August when some friends come visit. We are most likely just going to the Parc de Volcanes to see the gorillas, how close are you to there? I copied your address down so I’ll send a letter or something, mail is fun, no? email me if you want, lizskeris@gmail.com 🙂

Leave a Reply

