Fur Parenthood

8 Dec

Image

 

Helen could’ve picked a better time to come into my. She arrived at a low point and at first I think both of us were pretty frustrated. Me because I had this cat who played REALLY rough, woke me up in the wee hours of the morning, and added the stress of making sure she didn’t get outside for the first two weeks. Her, because she had to wear a stupid cone, found herself in a new place and spent the majority of her time locked in one room with almost nothing to hunt/pounce on (which she REALLY likes to do).

 

Helen comes from another volunteer who loves her very much, but finished her service and returned to America. Part of my initial stress related to worrying that something would go wrong, like she’d escape and try to return to her former home or have an issue with her stitches from getting fixed. It didn’t help that I was supposed to remove her stitches with the help of a sedative the vet provided, which didn’t work.

 

I felt the same kind of stress and worry when I first started taking my mom’s dog out, some might consider her my mother’s third child. I dreaded having to tell Helen’s mom bad news much the same way I wondered if my mom would forgive me if harm came to the dog while in my care.

 

I kept reminding myself that she only had to be kept inside for two weeks and that eventually I’d be glad for her company. Indeed that day has come, we have spent quite a few hours with her in my lap while I read or watch a movie and I enjoy talking to her in silly voices (my housemate probably thinks I’m crazy).

 

She’s also been a really fun subject to talk about with my coworkers. They want to know what she eats, how old she is, how she’s doing etc. On the downside, I think the combination of having a cat and school being on break has caused an increase of kids hanging around my house (kids have sticky fingers literally and figuratively).

 

There are a few quirks that I’m still learning to live with; she used to suckle her mom’s ear. So far I haven’t let her do that (I can’t even handle a dog licking me) but I do cringe every time she gets too close to my face or neck. She also like to Parkour…. off of me and usually it hurts. I feel like my back might look like Nancy Botwin’s when she was dating that Mexican drug Kingpin.

 

Upon arrival she made haste to the highest point in my room, even though she was still wearing her cone and there wasn’t too much room on top of the thing my clothes hang on. She’s also climbed my mosquito net and curtains in search of prey. Photographic evidence below.

One Response to “Fur Parenthood”

  1. leslierunsbham December 27, 2011 at 10:04 am #

    I love the Weeds reference! I am glad you are liking your kitty!!!

Leave a Reply

