Adventures In Cooking

8 Sep

If imitation is the highest form of flattery then I hit a homerun when I cooked for my host family. Since they cook over a fire, I cooked only two meals for them. Then hoped that I wouldn’t have to cook over a fire at site because I can’t keep one going to save my life.

The first meal I prepared for them was pasta and a ragu sauce with lots of garlic, bell peppers (which aren’t available at my site), onion, and tomato. I also used some of the rosemary they grew which functioned like MSG for me at that meal. I was nervous about how much they would like it, and if they would be honest but I knew when my sister made the dish again that I had been successful.

The second time I cooked for my host family I made omelets, which is the only way people eat eggs around here aside from hardboiled.

At site I haven’t done a lot of cooking on my own aside from making pancakes a couple Saturday mornings. Cooking the typical Rwanda meal routinely takes 1.5 to 2 hours, longer if you aren’t good at lighting the charcoal. I plan to buy a kerosene stove when I’m in Kigali this weekend along with some other ingredients so I can start cooking more non-Rwandan meals. Currently I share meals with my roommate, it will be interesting to see what happens when I start cooking more. I’m really looking forward to buying ginger root and garlic in Kigali to make a tasty stir fry when I return.

Leave a Reply

