Participation Requested

2 Aug

As I familiarize myself with how the health center runs I’m fairly certain that I can observe/participate in whatever I’d like, especially since patient confidentiality does not exist here.

So the question is…. do I want to observe the labor and delivery process? I’m pretty sure I want to have kids one day and the rudimentary manner in which medical care is delivered here continues to stress me out. Which makes me think that I should NOT observe.

What do you all think? Leave a comment and your logic behind yeah or neigh.

9 Responses to “Participation Requested”

  1. Jess August 2, 2011 at 1:01 pm #

    Watching an uncomplicated delivery might be really inspiring. After all, childbirth is one process in which often, rudimentary care is all that is needed. Does watching videos of normal natural births stress you out? That might be one measure. I know of a blog that shares a few birthing stories from various countries…reading some there might give you a good measure of whether you should observe or not.

  2. Lily Warrior August 2, 2011 at 5:26 pm #

    Of course you should observe! Birth is absolutely THE most miraculous event. What a blessing to be invited to watch. Heidi, you are blessed. I had my children at home with the most rudimentary of tools and it was awesome each time. I did have a midwife or two present and a country doctor for son #1. Can’t wait to hear about your experience!

    • Heidi August 6, 2011 at 12:31 pm #

      Susan, this is a little more than just ‘rudimentary tools’. My health center has concrete floors and a tin roof. I saw a woman with an iv and the fluid bag was attached to a hand carved coat rack not to mention that hot water is not to be found anywhere.

  3. Lily Warrior August 2, 2011 at 5:29 pm #

    Go Heidi! [added because I forgot to check the “notify me” box on the first post!]

  4. Jamie Wulfekuhle August 3, 2011 at 6:29 am #

    Hi beautiful!!!

    My guess is that you’re going to have many opportunities to observe a birth. Wait until you are ready and can appreciate the full beauty or tragedy that could occur. I get all giggly when I think about birth or becoming a doula, but I think your situation is different. You should be emotionally prepared for something basic to go really wrong. Are you or your clinic prepared for severe hemorrhage? Women don’t die of that in the States very often, but it seems to be a possibility where you are at. You have two years my friend.

    xoxoxoxo

  5. Travis August 5, 2011 at 7:32 am #

    Watch it! I had to chance to but I had a meeting. Do so, and they’ll probably name the baby after you!
    T

    • Heidi August 6, 2011 at 12:34 pm #

      You think they’ll give it my Rwandan or American name?

  6. Jessica Bell August 6, 2011 at 9:18 am #

    My vote is yes. I believe the more birthing experiences you see, the better loaded with options you’ll be if/when you choose to have babies. : )

  7. leslierunsbham August 9, 2011 at 11:55 am #

    Clearly I have not given birth, BUT I will say that my silly Dula sister has convinced me to watch some natural childbirth videos and it’s actually quite beautiful. Yes there are some unpleasant parts, but I think that the medical field makes it a lot more scary than it really is. I would encourange you to experience how Rwandan’s view childbirth and notice the differences and similarities. Birth and Life are truly a miracle, and I think that sitting in on that miracle where there are minimal “distractions” could be a great opportunity. Childbirth isn’t gross or scary, it’s a beautiful human experience. That being said, things don’t always go as planned and it could get a little hairy. It might be a good idea to do some research and prepare yourself before you decide to view it. Good luck 🙂

Leave a Reply

