Wherever you go, there you are

15 Jul

Well I’m here, at my site for good. I arrived around 11:30 and aside from mopping my room and greeting people have just been hanging out. It’s three now, and my new roommate asked me to wait for her to go to the market and purchase the things I need. At first I was in a hurry to get things done, but then I decided it would be a good bonding activity.

Yesterday early morning we left Kigali, miracle of all miracles relatively on time, just before eight am. It was the right time of day to travel through the Nyngwye Forest because we saw hellllaaaa baboons and some monkeys just chilling on/next to the road. I didn’t get much sleep the night before so I doze for the first part of the trip but woke up just in time to see the primates. We, being myself, another new volunteer, the driver and a PC staff person arrived in Kamembe around noon where we were greeted by the Peace Corps Volunteer Leader who lives in our region. There’s only one in all of Rwanda and since our area it takes so long to travel to Kigali and is EXPENSIVE he mans the regional office and volunteer crash pad.

After lunch at a restaurant we parted ways with the PC staff and the PCVL showed us around Kamembe. It was heartening to find out that Kamembe has some good things going for it, including some cool places to hang out and hear music. The best part though was hearing about the other volunteers in the area and what they’re up to. I met one during PST and absolutely loved her and heard that the rest are of a similar caliber. This is a comfort to know since time and money are factors that make me feel a bit isolated from the rest of the training group.

For dinner, a guy that the PCVL works with and teaches English to invited all five of us to his house for dinner. We were joined by his roommate and two friends. It was a fun night and a good opportunity for making some new friends and a little cross cultural exchange. His work occasionally brings him to these parts so there were plans to visit, and for me to return the favor of cooking before the evening ended.

The car was ridiculously full on the way to Kamembe, with the other volunteer and I surrounded by bags in the back seat. Somehow we made room for the PCVL and his suitcase since he was hitching a ride back to Kigali. Thankfully we reached the other volunteer’s site in little more than an hour.

There’s so much to write about but my room here is freshly painted and even with the window open I can feel brain cells dying. Rest assured that I will fill you in on all the ludicrous details of the last week over the weekend.

I should mention that there was some confusion about the owner of the PO Box I listed as my new address so I would appreciate your patience in waiting to know what a good address to reach me is. If you already sent something please don’t worry, I have faith that everything will work out.

2 Responses to “Wherever you go, there you are”

  1. leslierunsbham July 15, 2011 at 11:05 am #

    So happy to hear that you made it! Paint is good for your brain last time I checked. Just hope that the mice don’t like it and it will keep them away for a while. Love you dearly and miss you too. XO ~Lu

  2. larae.jamie@gmail.com July 16, 2011 at 9:24 am #

    Sounds like a lovely time:) I’m glad your room is getting spruced up! A colleague did Peace Corps in Nicaragua, and she had rodents in her room for two years. I guess you just live like everyone else. Is an attack kitty an option?

    What color did you paint your room?

    Work is busy and challenging until the bitter end. Up hill the whole way. This should be the last hard week, but I officially have two weeks.

    Hugs!

Leave a Reply

