The Run Down

30 Jun

If it were anymore official someone would send out a press release, us trainees are losing our minds. Or they’re already gone in some cases. After eight demanding weeks we’re starting to look/act a little worse for the wear which is understandable. With only two-ish weeks to go there’s a lot of demands on us. It’s time for me to buckle down and eliminate distractions but before I do I figured it’d be good to fill you in on what’s up next.

Monday is Rwanda’s Liberation Day and America’s Independence day. A national holiday in BOTH countries. We’re supposed to have appreciation/farewell events for our language/culture teachers and our families in the afternoon but I’m not sure about the status of that. The best part is I’m on the planning committee 🙂

Next Tuesday or Wednesday my small group is going to present in Kinyarwanda our workshop on the importance of treating water drinking water to 30ish Secondary School students. There will be an energizer, a skit, the use of pictures and some trivia with prizes. All in all it should be fun, if the students can understand us.

Next Friday we have our final ‘evaluations’ on the technical information we’ve covered during training.

Next Saturday is the day I’ve been dreading for quite awhile now, the language proficiency test. I’ve always been a procrastinator however, I’m not sure how well that’s going to work when I’m struggling to form words even in English.

The following Tuesday we pack up, leaving Kamonyi behind for good and head to Kigali. Wednesday we swear in as Volunteers after which we will breathe a huge, collective sigh of relief. In the days after that I will run around Kigali like a crazy lady trying to buy stuff for site and then head off to site Thursday or Friday.

I’ve been telling myself that I just need to get through training and then I’ll have a chance to catch my breath. According to my country director this is not the case. Apparently site installation comes with it’s own set of challenges (duh).

Despite the challenges and exhaustion of being here I am still eating, sleeping, and bathing (things that have preciously ceased in chaotic times in my life, like dead week). I haven’t for one minute second guessed my decision to join the peace corps or my excitement over being in Rwanda. Life is good and I can’t wait to see what the future at site holds.

One Response to “The Run Down”

  1. Cassie July 13, 2011 at 8:53 pm #

    I love love LOVE hearing how you’re doing 🙂 I am so proud of you for taking such a risk and moving to an unknown country and doing such good. I love and miss you like nobody’s business! xoxo

Leave a Reply

