Some helpful tidbits about staging

14 Apr

1. Peace Corps does not allow red-eye flights

2. No flights departing before 7 am and no leaving after 10 pm

3. There is a preferred flight carrier

Unfortunately I learned all this over the phone while making my flight arrangements to staging. Fortunately the lady with the travel agency was very nice despite my displeasure at having to leave to early on May 2nd. What’s the big deal you ask? Well, in the materials accompanying my invitation it said staging was May 4th. Then on April fools day I received an email containing staging information. It said check-in started at 1 pm on May 3rd. I almost emailed back to ask if it was some kind of April fool’s joke. But I didn’t. Eventually I got over being shortchanged a couple of days and continue to race obliviously toward the day of my departure.

3 Responses to “Some helpful tidbits about staging”

  1. ashley April 14, 2011 at 9:10 pm #

    On the one hand, SO glad you posted this because I’ve been wondering. On the other, crying a little because my local airport only does flights at like 6am or 2pm so this means I’m probably going to have to leave a day earlier. Mean of them to change your staging date

  2. Crystal Kazik May 2, 2011 at 10:00 am #

    You leave for staging today! Congrats and good luck!!! 🙂

    • Heidi May 2, 2011 at 10:07 pm #

      I made it! Thanks for the best wishes.

Leave a Reply

