It’s gettin’ real!

6 Mar

Friday marked two months until my departure and I’m actually starting to get excited! My upcoming move to Rwanda is feeling more real and the excitement is finally starting to dominate the feeling of being overwhelmed. That’s not to say that I have any less to do, but maybe. I have finally  made peace (for now at least) with the fact that I’m going to get done what I get done and that’s it. I’ve also internalized that the Peace Corps selected me because I AM a qualified individual not because of some ability to cram in as much preparation and training before leaving as possible.

With that in mind, I’m going to enjoy the next month of busy weekends with family and friends. In addition to trying to wrap my head around the fact that I have just a little more than a month left of work. I think it’s probably finally time to start planning for my transition out instead of just talking about it.

This evening I went through my clothes and got rid of all the things I feel mediocre about. Tomorrow I’ll take the decent stuff to a consignment store and give the rest to the needle exchange at work. I still have to sell my bed,  eventually get rid of a bookshelf  and that’s it for big stuff. I’m sure when it comes down to it there will probably be a lot more ‘small stuff’ to get rid of than I anticipated. However, I am confident that I will be able to meet my goal of everything I own fitting into 4 rubbermaid bins and a hope(less) chest.

Where does the time go? At least the next month holds lots of time with friends I don’t see frequently.

Leave a Reply

