Rwandan Realization #1 and #2

1 Feb

This is certainly not the first thing I’ve thought about related to my service, but I thought it would be fun to start sharing them.

Rwandan Realization #1  I need to get over my fear/loathing of chickens.

I don’t like fowl, and I especially don’t like chickens. My disdain for them was signed when I found out that the cute little chicks my family was raising could have fleas. It was sealed when I had a nightmare (yes, a nightmare) where chickens were repeatedly running at me in attack mode and scraping claws/beaks down my legs when I kicked out in defense. And finally delivered all the times I had to shoo them off nests in order to collect eggs while in work clothes. Granted I’ve never had a chicken actually attack me like in my nightmare, but we did have a one eyed rooster who would charge if you turned your back, even if you were on the other side of the chicken wire.

Reading other PCJ blogs I realize that chickens are frequent seatmates on public transportation. Meaning that I need to make peace with fowl and all of their pecking, pooping, and flea ridden tendencies in order to eliminate a potential stressor in my life.

Rwandan Realization #2 I won’t have to take Vitamin D supplements anymore.
The Pacific Northwest is famous for it’s Vitamin D deficient people. Apparently this essential vitamin is harder to absorb in more Northern latitudes. My college professor alerted me to my deficiency as a Junior based on a diet analysis activity we did. It was until several years later, at my NP’s insistence that I started taking 2,000 IUs twice a day. Now that I know what it feels like to get sufficient Vitamin D, when I slack on taking it I feel the effects. My sleep isn’t as satisfying and I feel more lethargic. So I am looking forward to not having to remember to take Vitamin D twice a day. However I’m sure it will be replaced by something else crucial to my survival.

3 Responses to “Rwandan Realization #1 and #2”

  1. Liz February 4, 2011 at 8:10 pm #

    Woo Hoo Vitamin D! I live in FL so I get plenty, but if I’m up north for an extended period during the winter (or even during the winter here sometimes) I can definitely feel myself starting to miss it.

  2. Christine Hooyman February 7, 2011 at 8:40 am #

    Hahaha…I just read this post, Heidi, and am giggling inappropriately at work. Someone I studied abroad in Kenya with shared your same fear of chickens (for the same reasons, too!). Whenever we were on a bus together, it was literally my job to kick and shove the chickens away from her. If we’re ever on a bus together, I promise to keep the chickens away from you as well 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Changes, I’ve Never Been Good With Change « Chase This Light - November 26, 2011

    […] thing that hasn’t changed….. I still loathe chickens, remember this post. Rwanda has a law that forbids taking animals on public transportation, good news in the fact […]

Leave a Reply

