A dream come true… literally

28 Dec

This afternoon I found the envelope sitting on my porch. I brought it over to my coworkers who also happens to be my neighbor/mentor/friend extraordinaire because I figured such a moment was meant to be shared. Sure enough, I’ve been invited to Rwanda, staging May 4th, leaving (arriving?) May 6th.

Another reason I wanted to open it in the presence of someone else is that I figured I’d be less likely to have a meltdown. Just holding it in my hands was enough to make me a little emotional. It’s been such a roller coaster with the application process and there’s something so final (even though nothing with pc is final) and serious about getting an invitation. It’s terrifying yet exciting to think that in 4ish months I will be living a life I can’t even imagine right now surrounded by people who share the same commitment and vision.

In my heart of hearts I’ve been longing to go to Rwanda. Reading blogs of the volunteers there and knowing that so much growth and healing is taking place there is just inspiring and something I want to be a part of. That’s not to say the experience won’t be without challenges. The good thing is that I have four months to meditate on and arm myself with skills that will hopefully be useful in rising to the challenges presented.

Tija- I know you’ll probably read this, let’s talk about the certificate courses you took. I’m looking for something about working with people from post-conflict countries/living with PTSD. Thanks 🙂

The last couple of days have been busy and the next couple will be equally if not more! Good thing I have a plane ride to go over the mountain of paperwork I received.

5 Responses to “A dream come true… literally”

  1. Sherlie December 29, 2010 at 3:36 am #

    Congrats on your invite! We have a roughly a similar timeline (our interviews were on the same day) except my medical clearance happened 2 weeks ago. A few days ago I had a dream I received an invite to Eastern Europe. The only thing is because of a medical deferral back in Aug. I don’t even know if and to where I’ve been renominated.

  2. Kylene December 29, 2010 at 11:22 am #

    I am so happy for you!!!!! You are going to have such an amazing time. Enjoy these few days of excitement because your journey is nowhere near over! There is a whole new list of things to do in the next few months to prepare 🙂

    Congrats again!

  3. Liz December 29, 2010 at 2:44 pm #

    Congratulations!!!! I’m so happy that you got placed exactly where you wanted 🙂 I will be right next door so we should travel and visit 😀

  4. Tracy January 12, 2011 at 7:11 pm #

    Congratulations, this is very exciting!!! Come visit me in Botswana…

  5. Tija January 26, 2011 at 12:34 pm #

    HEIDI! I thought I had replied to this ages ago but obviously I didn’t! I am sooooo excited for you and duhhhhh we will have to meet up since we’ll be neighbors! I am dying to visit Rwanda! Annnnnd, lets definitely talk about certificate courses. I took 19 through USAID’s Global Health eLearning Center but there are also a bunch of PTSD courses that my colleagues have taken working with families and abused children. I will ask around and find out which are the best (and cheapest) and let you know! Holy congratulations and yay!

Leave a Reply

