The Call From Placement

10 Dec

This is over a week old, but last Tuesday (Wednesday?) my placement officer Kristin finally called. The part that tickled me most is that I had been debating on whether or not to call the placement office and decided to remain true to my new mantra of, ‘it will happen in time.’ Who knew that my patience would be rewarded the very next day!

So Kristin asked all the usual questions, what I’ve been doing to prepare, did I still feel like the Peace Corps was the right decision, etc. And then she asked me how tied to a geographic region I was. My response, ‘not very’ was apparently the right answer. Why is that you ask? Well, I made the decision to get an IUD about six months back and not all country programs can provide the level of care required. Which is weird, because an IUD is one of those things you get and more or less forget about because routine maintenance is minimal and they’re good for 5- 10 years. Bless Peace Corps’ little heart for caring so much about my health. I’m curious what other women’s experience with Peace Corps and IUDs has been. Anyone?

Then it was my turn to ask her some questions, alot of good it did me though. First, I asked if there was a list of countries that could accommodate an IUD. The answer: depends. Then I asked her about the health degreed program explaining the only information I could find online was the kind of people qualified for it. Again they go to a variety of countries and work on a variety of topics. When I clarified that I was curious about the level volunteers work on be it; teaching, training trainers or working on policy and systems change. Again no real answer. She did mention that Central Asia and Eastern Europe parts of the world that could use my skill set and background. She also informed me that a January departure was unlikely and that she hoped to find a program for me within a week leaving most likely at the end of February. Though here we are a week and a half later and I haven’t heard anything from her and the only departure dates on PC wiki for the end of February/early March are for Africa or Spanish speaking countries which I don’t qualify for because I don’t speak Spanish. So I have no idea where I might go or when I might be leaving but that’s ok because my time will come and where ever I go it’s going to be where I’m needed and I’m going to get the experience I need.

My life in the past month has been so full of change it’s pretty funny. First I was going to be out of a job at the end of the year but now I’m not. I was nominated to leave for Africa in January but now I’m not. Last week I was going to move out my current house but now I’m not. Except for this nasty cold that’s dragging me down the last couple of days life is great even amidst the constant change.

2 Responses to “The Call From Placement”

  1. Stephanie December 11, 2010 at 7:29 am #

    Just FYI: Neither my husband nor I speak spanish (more than basic knowledge anyway) and we have been invited to Costa Rica at the end of February… anything is possible! 🙂

    • goodlifechoice December 13, 2010 at 12:57 pm #

      Interesting and Congratulations! Do either of you have a background in another romance language?

Leave a Reply

