Video

Ifirimbi Yanyuma

9 Dec

I try in as many ways as possible to share bits of popular culture here in Rwanda with friends back home. This song came out this year and someone ended up in my possession. What I like most about the song is that I knew it was a love song before I understood any of the words because of the music and the way Kamichi sings. Gotta love that!

The title translates as ‘the last whistle’. Ifirimbi yanyuma y’ubuzima translates to ‘the last whistle of life’ and the song is about how Kamichi is going to love his girl for all of time. I haven’t seen a copy of the song lyrics or had someone break it down for me. My explanation is just from what I’ve been able to understand, so pardon any misinformation.

As mentioned, the song is about loving someone until ‘the last whistle of life’ then I’m pretty sure he sings about being together in heaven where life is easy and the rain doesn’t fall and there’s always sun. Along with some other stuff.

In the US we say things like ‘until my dying day’ or ‘last breath’ as a measure of our eternal love for someone. In an attempt to understand the significance of the last whistle I asked a friend about it and while he wasn’t super familiar with the song he said compared it to a futbol match. Hahaha. Which is entirely possible. I’m going to do some more asking around.

Also, from my understanding the video is not thematically connected to the song. Which seems to be common in a lot the the Rwandan music videos I’ve seen.

Enjoy!

One Response to “Ifirimbi Yanyuma”

  1. Jill teVelde January 27, 2013 at 9:36 pm #

    Thanks for sharing ! Love you Llama

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

